Natasha Nicholls

1 – When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you? 

I don’t like being a cliche, but I really have always loved music and singing. I remember being 4 years old singing along to anything that was on the radio. I didn’t care whether it was rap or jazz. I didn’t know any of the words, so I just made up my own instead! I asked my parents at the time how a little box (the radio lol) could produce such sounds. They told me that there were actual people singing the songs, not the radio itself. I remember telling my parents that I wanted to be one of the singers in ‘the box’ as well.

2 – Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now? 

I grew up listening to a diverse range of sounds varying from Beethoven to the Beatles to Britney Spears. I loved listening to all kinds of music genres and I would have to say that being exposed to such diverse sounds has really shaped my own sound.

3 – How long have you been playing/writing?

I used to write a lot of poetry in my pre-teens. In order to remember my poems, I used to sing them to myself. I guess this was my introduction to songwriting. I didn’t start to write actual songs until the age of 13.

4 – How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?

I’ve been lucky to have had the opportunity to perform on several continents, but I really hope to perform on them all one day! The only continents remaining are Australia, South America and Antarctica. I am currently busy with my children’s foundation that raises money for handicapped children in Asia and Africa. In order to concentrate on this I have currently no shows lined up, but I am definitely planning on arranging some shows for next year!

5 – What has been your favourite moment in music?

Every day is my favourite moment in music. Every day I get the opportunity to listen to and to play music. This makes me so happy. Music is an integral part of my life.

6 – Where is the best place to find you online?

You can listen to my music and also find the links to my social media on my official website: www.natashanichollsmusic.com    

Thank you for taking the time to interview me 🙂

One comment

  1. […] I have been interviewed by the website Unsigned Interviews in the UK. You can read this at: https://unsignedinterviews.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/natasha-nicholls/ […]

Leave a comment