In conversation with: Temper Cartel

We’ve been having a chat with with the boys from indie-rock four-piece Temper Cartel, who are looking to make a name for themselves with their new single ‘Babysitter’, for which the video is out 9th August! Check it out here:

 

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

Josh Alden – ” I think that I got into music through film, probably. I was obsessed with the TV from a very, very young age. My mum and dad were both working so I would get dropped off at my Grandparents (on my mum’s side) and we would watch old westerns and lots of 50’s and 60’s films etc. The music is just great in those films, and a lot of them just turn into musicals half way through or stick a song in! I think that was probably the first introduction to the power of music whether I knew it or not.”

Sam Alden – “Our Grandad was a drummer in a couple of different jazz bands, he sung too. We used to go and watch him play a lot and it influenced Josh to pick up the sticks and start playing drums but later he switched to guitar. Josh is older than me so by the time I was his age I had got into drums because of our granddad too. But I stuck with it, so now I play drums in the band.”

 

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

Josh Alden – “If I’m honest… Chas n’ Dave, Michael Jackson and Roy Orbison! Haha my grandparents used to take me to Somerset a lot, on the drive I would sit in the back and sing along to Roy Orbison. They just had a tape player in the car and we used to take a pile with us, I was always asking my grandma to change it to the next song, so she was taking tapes out and putting new ones in for the whole journey! It would go from Roy Orbison ‘working for the man’ to Chas n’ Dave ‘London Girls’ then finish on Michael Jackson  ‘Man in the mirror’ then I’d ask for Roy Orbison again. I think everything you’ve seen and heard has to play a part in how you write songs but I couldn’t pin point what music and when has made me write how I write or what I write.

 

How long have you been playing/writing?

Danny Fisher – “I think all of us have been playing instruments since we were kids, I started at 6.”

Josh Alden – ” I started writing songs in the styles of people I liked around 12 years old. So I would listen to the pattern of a Nirvana song and then try and write my own. That’s how I started writing. Then you realise that you can’t write them as well as those people so you move on to another style and learn that. Gradually you mature and grow as a songwriter and before you know it you’ve studied lots of styles and in the process, found your own.”

 

How often do you play live?

Sam Alden – “we started out playing every week to get the experience. Now we play once every 2 or 3 weeks. We’ve been enjoying gigs in London, Oxford and Brighton. We want to venture out and go up North but for now this is where we are building a fan base. Our next gig is in London at –

 

What has been your favourite moment in music?

Everton Barbato – I think for all of us our highlights have been recording with Mark Gardener, finishing the album and supporting The Strypes. They’re nice guys, great musicians and really good at what they do.”

 

Where is the best place to find you online?

Danny Fisher – ” it depends on what you prefer to use I guess, you can catch us on Instagram (@tempercartel) which we use for more silly stuff, messing around in rehearsal etc.”

Sam Alden – “Or Twitter (@tempercartel) for links to articles or radio shows we’ve been on. But if you want a bit of everything including gig info, vids and pics, then Facebook @Tempercartel or our website www.tempercartel.com will have everything you need.”

Josh Alden – “We will be posting links to our new video Babysitter on Wednesday 9th August across all of these platforms!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

