A conversation with: Neethusa

1

Unsigned Interviews have been having a chat with Indian singer- songwriter (and computer science graduate) Neethusha about her origins in music and where she is now with her new single ‘Why Did I Lose You’.

 

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

I started writing songs in English and Hindi when I was 14 years old. At that point I didn’t know that I would be taking up music as a full time profession at a later point in my life although I was always fascinated by the idea of being a music artist. After I moved to Bangalore from my home state for work, I found opportunities to record my songs, start singing at coffee shops and restro-bars. It began from there, around 7 years ago. I started performing with bands around 4 years ago.

Celine Dion and Savage Garden songs were the first ones that really caught my attention- my God, their voices! Darren Hayes voice was so magical! I wanted to sing like them, emote the same way through my voice too. Bathroom singing started just around then! Other artists who influenced me are Shania Twain, Phil Collins and Roxette.

 

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

Again, Celine Dion, Shania Twain, Bryan Adams, Backstreet Boys, Ronan Ketaing, Phil Collins, Abba, Roxette- I grew up listening to them and they have had tremendous influence on my singing styles and my songwriting.

 

How long have you been playing/writing?

I have been writing songs for over a decade now. Both in English and Hindi; although singing and writing in English is my forte. I have taken to it much more seriously in the last 4 years after quitting my job as a consultant with Deloitte.

 

How often do you play live?

I play at restrobars and coffee shops around town Wednesdays through Sundays. I play at 1522 and Gillys on New BEL Road, Bangalore on Wednesdays and Thursdays respectively( both great venues!), at the Shangri-La on Friday/Saturday; Marriot Courtyard for Sunday Brunches & The Big Pitcher, Domlur on Sunday evenings ( another great pub).  Apart from this I do trio/fully live band gigs for corporate, private and wedding functions 5-6 times a month.

What has been your favourite moment in music?

There have been several times that I have played my original music for public gigs and people have hummed to the song and requested for it to be played again. Those were the first times they were listening to it; I had this sense of accomplishment then; a beautiful feeling!

Where is the best place to find you online?

My facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/neethusha

My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/neethushavc

4 comments

  1. Joshua Paulmer · · Reply

    Neethusha a great singer with a beautiful voice andd soul

  2. Jonathan Aaron · · Reply

    That’s a Great interview ! All the best and Success in your Carreer and you personal life.

    My Sweetest Regards

    Jon

  3. Sound good Neetu…I wish ,you will get lot’s of success in your life

  4. Hi
    Been following Neethusha from a long time , the first time I heard her was at the cover of Tere hoke and then was absolutely in love with her melodious voice I have heard her first original many a times

Leave a Reply

