In conversation with: Short Sharp Scratch

FullSizeRender.jpg

This week, we’ve been lucky enough to have a chat with long time producer/songwriter, Jak Chantler, of Short Sharp Scratch who is currently releasing his latest soul-funk hybrid single ‘Shell Suit’. Here’s what he had to say:

 

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

My earliest musical memory is my mum making deliveries in her pickup truck for the family business, my sister and I strapped in together in the front seat (it was the 80s!), with Appetite for Destruction blaring out the truck stereo.  Mum always used to turn the volume down at the sweary bits!

When I was about 10 I rediscovered this record and it inspired me to start playing guitar.

 

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

I was obsessed with rock growing up, back then you were not allowed to enjoy other stuff too as it was seen as soft, so for many years I also had a secret pop and disco flirtation.  Thank goodness when you reach the age where you can proudly enjoy all music! I’m not sure if it’s like that for rock kids today, I think people can listen to whatever they like peer pressure free!

 

How long have you been playing/writing?

I started out writing guitar parts for my old band Kingskin.  As we got busier with gigs our singer was less interested in writing lyrics so I started doing that just as it had to get done in order to finish anything.  Then at some point I discovered Prince and saw that he would write, play and record everything!  I’m not on that level as he is a God as far as I’m concerned, but it definitely helped me.

 

How often do you play live?

I am very busy live performer, it’s often private events.  However there are some live opportunities coming up, watch this space…

What has been your favourite moment in music?

My best experience has been either recording with Steve Albini in Chicago or recently I got to record my new single Shell Suit at Abbey Road

Where is the best place to find you online?

https://m.facebook.com/shortsharpscratchmusic/

‘Shell Suit’ is set for release 15th September.

Leave a Reply

