In conversation with: Five o Five

Copertina elegante (1)

We were lucky enough to have a chat with Piero of up-and-coming Italian indie rockers, Five o Five, and at the tender age of just 18, this continental four piece are showing they have talent beyond their years with their new single ‘Where They Bring Sophie’.

 

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

I can’t remember a time when I was not into music, really. It was The Beatles who inspired me to start a band.

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

My father made me listen to the Rolling Stones, the Beatles, the Who and many other bands he loves from the “good old times”, and they are still an inspiration to me. I also grew up listening to a lot of country and blues. Then my older brothers introduced me to pop punk bands that were very popular when I was a little kid: Sum 41, Blink 182 and Good Charlotte to name a few. All of these still impact what I write, as well as others genres I learned to love later, like jazz and electronic music.

How long have you been playing/writing?

My first instrument was the violin, I was 5 when my parents bought one for me. I would often watch Shania Twain in concert and I had decided that the violin was my favourite instrument in her show. Three years later I started dedicating myself only to the guitar. I would invent riffs as a game by the age of 10 and when I was 13 I wrote a song called Little Fat Girl, which will be in our upcoming album, @Y&!

How often do you play live?

In Italy we try to organise three gigs each month during the winter and four or five during the rest of the year. Our music is not exactly “mainstream” where we’re from, so it can be hard for us to find a time and place to play live. We’re coming to England in September for an acoustic tour, and again in October or November for another short tour.

What has been your favourite moment in music?

Everytime music contributes to affect how people think, like when it manages to make an impact in social protest movements or to help people claim their freedom, I see it as a great moment for music.

Where is the best place to find you online?

You can find us on our Facebook page: https://m.facebook.com/fiveofiveband/?ref=bookmarks

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/track/3bdD4209rhtvuyGBC6KXpx

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/it/album/where-they-bring-sophie/id1255474696?i=1255475083

Deezer: http://www.deezer.com/album/44111051

Leave a Reply

