GET TO KNOW: Atticus

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

I was into songwriting from an early age, almost by accident. My first memory of it was primary school. We were doing a song in class the next day and the teacher asked if anyone could play the guitar. Nobody put there hand up so I did. I thought, how hard can it be? Turns out it was hard and I stayed up well past my bedtime learning the song on my mums old guitar. I later taught myself piano and the basics of production.

When my mum died at 16 my music really kicked on as I put down on paper all of the confusion I was feeling at that point. The emotion that drove that music is still very much prevalent in what I make now. Only the way in which I create has evolved.

 

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

As with many people my parents were a big influencer on what I listened to. I still remember the 6 cd changer in my dads car. Bowie, beautiful south and Fleetwood mac (‘roomers’ of course). Bowie certainly influenced my style, in the staccato way in which I compose, allowing raw vocals plenty of space to cut through. My dad was into a lot of bluesy indie back then so I know I’ve adopted and modernised that style.

 

How long have you been playing/writing?

I’ve been writing for almost a decade now, feels a bit strange to say. This project (ATTICUS) though is brand-new and super exciting, I feel like it’s the music that I’ve always wanted to make. It’s been such a journey, working with some amazing people along the way, i’m so grateful and I just can’t wait to get the music out there.

 

How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?

At the moment we are seeding the music out online, but I love playing live so when the EP drops, there will be plenty of gigs in and around London and maybe a tour.

 

What has been your favourite moment in music?

Quite a few years back I played at the 02 arena. The thrill of playing to a crowd like that was intoxicating.

 

Where is the best place to find you online?

My debut track as ATTICUS lands on 24 March, when that drops you wont be able to miss it; Spotify, YouTube, Apple, Soundcloud. The best place to follow me is my Facebook @officialatticus.

Leave a Reply

