GET TO KNOW: Mike Maro

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

I was consciously heavily attracted to music when I was 8 years old. I remember a 16 years old friend of mine rapping Sisquo’s song “Unleash the Dragon” and I wanted to know how he could memorise the flow and sing along like that. Ever since then I isolated myself with music, learning lyrics as I listened to songs and even buying various lyric books. My household made it easier for me to find music as well. There was always some new music I would discover like a Michael Bolton CD or Phil Collins down to Winans Phase 2 etc.

I was so inspired when I heard “We Got Next” by Winans Phase 2. Intrigued by the fact that they rapped and sang well at the same time. Their melodies, story telling skill and the fact that it was an album dedicated to God was what first got me amped about music.

 

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

I grew up listening to a bit of everything and I am still finding new sounds which has helped me evolve as an artist. As a child I listened to Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Winans Phase 2, 2face Idibia, Backstreet Boys, Kirk Franklin, Shirley Caesar, P-square, Biggie & Pac, Usher, Naughty by Nature, Sisquo, Ja Rule, Mya, Missy Elliot etc basically old school music and tunes from the 90s era.

In my teenage years I listened to artists like Lil Wayne, Jay Z, Drake, Eminem, Destiny’s child, The Fugees, Boyz to Men, Ginuwine, Mariah Carey, Alicia Keys etc.

Growing up and now because I am still growing, I try and find artist I never listened to like Frank Sinatra (even though this was in my household as a kid), grime music, so Skepta, Dizzie Rascal, AJ Tracey, Chip, Bugzy, Stormzy and so many more. I am currently hooked on Little Simz “Stillness in Wonderland” I think it is a proper concept album and well put together. I also love Sampha’s latest album “Process”.

Every song I listen to, circumstances in my life, incidents, ideas of what things were and what things could be, me, my personalities, all inspire me to create the music I make. One thing I know for sure is that I want to make history and I know that my music cannot be mediocre and it has to be timeless. Therefore, I draw from literally everything in my life to this point and beyond to make music.

 

How long have you been playing/writing?

It all started with writing poetry and then love poetry at the age of 9/10. I starting writing songs when I was 11. Formed a trio boy band called “Born Stars” at that age as well. We began performing for our school assemblies and other venues and had gained some notoriety when we turned 12. When my group was no more I decided to become a solo MC at 15. Since then I have focused on bettering my craft and am now at the stage where the world needs to listen to what I have been working on for these past years.

 

 How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?

To be honest not very often and that is because my focus has been perfecting my craft and making the songs, coming up with ideas for my projection and figuring how I want to be perceived in my videos. What you can expect from me at this point is more material online. When I feel I have much more online then I will focus on performing gigs for the people.

However, I love attending open mics and participating as well. So if you’re in London and do the same, keep an eye out.

 

What has been your favourite moment in music?

Every time I make a great song or a really catchy tune, is a favourite moment for me. I love when people hear my music and hit me up with a speechless reaction. I truly believe I am going for the longevity of a music career so I am hoping for and expect more favourite moments to come. Be it in the studio, on stage or wherever life takes me.

Where is the best place to find you online?

I always urge people to subscribe to my pages especially my YouTube and Soundcloud because that is the source for dishing out my material. Also on

https://www.facebook.com/officialmike.maro/

https://www.instagram.com/mike.maro/

https://twitter.com/_MikeMaro

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5pTQQtDML1CcApmkivFLfA

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/mikemaro

Leave a Reply

