GET TO KNOW: Mark L Oakes

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

I’ve always been passionate about arts and music. I started playing drums at the age of 16 and quickly felt the need to turn my own words (poems and lyrics) into melodies. I fell in love with guitar playing and my first real musical “electroshock” was Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”.

 

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

I grew up listening to all kinds of artists: Pink Floyd, The Rolling Stones, Neil Young, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers etc. In my late 30’s I discovered the genius of Townes Van Zandt. His eponymous album featuring “Waiting Around to Die” & “None But The Rain” is my bedside favourite.

 

How long have you been playing/writing?

I’ve been writing my own songs for more than 25 years now.

 

How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?

I’m mainly playing open mikes in the US.

 

What has been your favourite moment in music?

Meeting Tucker Zimmerman at his place and playing him a bunch of songs I wrote about his stellar “Bicycle Poems”.

 

Where is the best place to find you online?

www.oakesmusic.com

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8pq-OE8Cknqw4FwMdfhMLA

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/call-me-the-moon/id1164030204

www.twitter.com/markloakes

www.facebook.com/oakesmusic

 

Leave a Reply

