Interview With Skinn

IMG_1063

When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

I first got into music whilst i was still in school, i bought my first CD by chamillionaire, then i found myself writing rhymes, which quickly turned to me trying to make beats. From then onwards, i made up my mind to become an artist, i am inspired by a lot of things, my environment, the people around me, my friends and family. As an artist my truest form of inspiration stems from emotions that are caused by events that happen to me directly. The good things in life inspire me to get better things in life and the bad things in life inspire me to find artistic solutions.

 

Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

I grew up listening to afrobeats from people like King Sunny Ade and Fela.. later on listening to people like D’banj and Chamillionaire made me realise how powerful and influential music can be. Music has the power to pioneer Revolutions as history has shown. To an extent i can say the sounds of the past impact what i currently create. But as a futurist, i work towards creating the sounds that will impact people who are unaware that they are about to feel the impact.

 

How long have you been playing/writing?

From my recollection, i have been writing professionally for at least 6 years, a major portion of my work from then has been unreleased mainly because i had to perfect my craft as well my sound. It was important i came out with music with reasonable contents.

 

How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?

The last live show i had was at the O2 Oxford, i would play as often as i am booked. But i have taken time out from performing at live events to concentrate on recording this project. I have no information on any upcoming gig but people who want to see me in their towns would need to contact promoters to arrange something.

 

What has been your favourite moment in music?

I have had a lot of good moments in music, so far my set at the O2 oxford was very heartfelt.. And the crowd were the most amazing ever. That right there meant a lot to me. Just been able to showcase my music to anybody gives me a smile nothing else can give me.

 

Where is the best place to find you online?

The best place to find me online would be on twitter. I definitely tweet alot and its easier to have conversations about everything and anything. For people who dont have twitter you can always visit – http://www.revedepaix.com/#showcase listen to my music, leave me a message. I’ll get back to you.

Leave a Reply

