Lydia Kakabadse


Untitled

1 – When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?

I started learning the piano at the age of 5 and the double bass at 13 and played in the school chamber group, orchestra, sung in the choir and madrigals.  I played the double bass in numerous orchestras in Manchester and Cheshire (including the Cheshire Youth Orchestra) whilst still at school.    I was – and still am – inspired by mediaeval music, Middle Eastern Music, nineteenth century poets/composers and mysteries

2 – Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

Eighteenth and nineteenth century classical composers, which did impact my earlier works rather than current works.

3 – How long have you been playing/writing? 

I have been playing the piano since I was 5 and the double bass since I was 13; composing since I was 13.

4 – How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?

I don’t play live, but my music has been performed at Ely Cathedral (2005/6), St John’s Smith Square London (2008); Norwich Cathedral (2009); Grosvenor House London (2012); The Forum Norwich (2013); The Chapel of Gonville and Caius College Cambridge (2014)

5 – What has been your favourite moment in music?

Listening to my choral work “Cantica Sacra” being premiered in Feb 2014 by the Choir of Gonville and Caius College Cambridge

6 – Where is the best place to find you online?

www.lydiakakabadse.com

Leave a Reply

