Go2

Go2-Hi-Res1

1 – When did you first get into music? What or who inspired you?

Lerish: Unofficially, since the crib, stories of bouncing and dancing to music and crying when it was turned off, lol. Officially, I really started singing in elementary school in chorus and at 11 was writing and producing my own songs with a Casio Keyboard and a cassette tape deck. Hip-Hop, R&B, Pop and Gospel were always an outlet and inspiration for me growing up. There was domestic violence early on in my home and music was a therapeutic way to deal with the hard times.

Vizun: I was pretty much surrounded by music growing up. My father would play his old school records in the basement at home, (Parliament was one of my favorites) and that became my hangout spot. My mother loved gospel and soul music. My older sister and cousins would always play the latest Hip Hop or R&B songs and that eventually made me want to try to make songs of my own. I wasn’t much of a singer, (Even now, I leave that part to Lerish, lol), so I gravitated to writing rap music, which wasn’t too much of a stretch because I was already writing poetry at the time. As I got older it became less of a hobby and more of a passion. I couldn’t (and still can’t) go through a day without listening to music.

2 – Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?

Lerish: I grew up listening to LL Cool J, Run DMC, Boyz II Men, Donnie Hathaway, Stevie Wonder, Michael Jackson, New Edition and Commissioned (A gospel group that birthed the solo careers of Fred Hammond and Marvin Sapp). This diverse playlist has allowed me to pull from different characteristics throughout the years and come into my own eclectic style of singing. I would say I’m very melodic and can be soulful at times with a touch of pop. I think this has allowed me to be in a group with a rapper and not seem out of place. Lol.

Vizun: I grew up listening to many of the same artists that Lersih mentioned as well as Anita Baker, De La Soul, BDP and a wide array of other artists, and I think that it caused my taste to be pretty broad. While rap music is what I consider to be my area of expertise, I like trying to infuse other music styles into it such as jazz, rock, neo-soul, etc. Our range in taste is what allows our music to be so diverse. When you listen to a Go2 album, you won’t hear the same old thing from song to song. It’s one of the strengths of our group but it’s also made it hard for people to put us in a particular category (which I am actually happy about.)

3 – How long have you been playing/writing?

Lerish: I’ve been writing and playing since the age of 11 years old.
Vizun: I think my first rap was written when I was about 8 or 9. I haven’t stopped since, lol.

4 – How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?

Go2: When on the road we try and perform mostly on the weekends. Right now we’ve taken a short break to finish up the new album and music videos to a few of the upcoming singles.

5 – What has been your favorite moment in music?

Go2: One of our favorite moments in our journey so far was in Chicago. We were there to perform on Rev. Jesse Jacksons weekly broadcast and stopped at a local youth event. The kids there were off the chain! They even rushed the stage while we were performing. The energy was electrifying and it was so encouraging to see the youth so on fire for what God was doing through our music!

6 – Where is the best place to find you online?

http://www.twitter.com/therealgo2http://www.facebook.com/therealgo2http://www.ourstage.com/therealgo2 and http://www.soundcloud.com/go2

Leave a Reply

