Gravity Rain

1 – When did you first get into music? What or who Inspired you?
A friend of mine used to deal with guitars at some point when I was a boy. And since he was older than me and was an example for me, and I already was into metal – soon it all began to interest me a lot and I started to make noises and pull strings on my old father’s guitar) It was pointless strumming but I enjoyed it a lot anyway) Later I was given a chance to try out the electric guitar with a distortion effect, and that was the time I fell in love with it that I never let go ever since. Later there were some teenage metal bands that I usually sang, played guitar and composed songs for. As for inspiration, I’d say Manowar and Iron Maiden – that’s what first comes to my mind.

2 – Who did you grow up listening to, and does that impact on what you create now?
Well, my father used to listen to soft rock. That, I suppose, left a certain mark when I was a child. But I really got into rock and metal at the age of 9 when my classmate gave me The Doors’ “Strange Days” tape and later infected me with Manowar which, in fact, inspires me hitherto. The Joey DeMaio’s sweet bass guitar sound, Eric Adams’s beautiful vocals and simple but still great melodies – that’s what caught me and held me captive for at least a decade till my 19th year. Of course there were other bands like Helloween, In Flames, Maiden, Kiss, Dream Theater, Staind, Devin Townsend, Dimmu Borgir, HIM and even Cranberries.

3 – How long have you been playing/writing?
As far as I remember I started to play and write knowingly at the age of 14. I began to take vocal lessons when I was about 18 years old.

4 – How often do you play live (include details and links for any upcoming gigs)?
The live playing is not too abundant at the moment because Gravity Rain as the project was formed not long ago and it has just released its debut EP. But I’m planning to make European and Russian tours after the release of a debut album which will happen this autumn. Stay tuned!

5 – What has been your favourite moment in music?
They are a few, actually, I mean the true magic ones, and they change occasionally but the first moment that comes to mind right now is Dream Theater’s “Learning to Live” song with the exact moment from 5:00 to 5:20. I don’t know what exactly special is hidden there in this section, I think my soul knows) And, I suppose, Devin Townsend’s “Ocean Machine” album is one huge full-length special moment for me.

6 – Where is the best place to find you online?
http://gravityrain.bandcamp.com – is the best place at the moment and the Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/gravityrain. The official website is currently under construction but no bad vibes – it will be finished soon.
So, please, listen, comment, like, share and stay tuned for new songs and tour dates!

Leave a Reply

